EN

## COMMISSION DECISION (EU) 2021/722

#### of 3 May 2021

## renewing the mandates of three existing members of the European Statistical Advisory Committee and appointing two new members

THE EUROPEAN COMMISSION,

Having regard to the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union,

Having regard to Decision No 234/2008/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 11 March 2008 establishing the European Statistical Advisory Committee and repealing Council Decision 91/116/EEC (<sup>1</sup>), and in particular Article 4(1), point (a), thereof,

Whereas:

- (1) Commission Decision 2016/C12/02 (<sup>2</sup>) appointed four members of the European Statistical Advisory Committee ('the Committee'), for a term of five years. The mandates of those members ended on 31 December 2020. Three of the members have agreed to the renewal of their mandates.
- (2) One of the four members appointed by Decision 2016/C12/02 is not in a position to have his mandate renewed, and should therefore be replaced.
- (3) The remaining eight members were appointed by Commission Decision 2019/C63/05 (<sup>3</sup>). Their respective terms of office are due to expire in 2024. However, one of those eight members has resigned and should therefore be replaced for the remainder of his term of office.
- (4) Since the reserve list established by Decision 2019/C63/05 has become obsolete, Member States have provided the Commission, at its request, with a list of candidates with well-established qualifications in the field of statistics, for the purposes of the appointment of the new members of the Committee.
- (5) In the selection of the two new members, the Commission has endeavoured to ensure that they represent, in equal measure, users, respondents and other stakeholders in Union statistics (including the scientific community, the social partners and civil society).
- (6) The Commission consulted the European Parliament and the Council as regards the renewals of mandates and the new appointments, and those institutions gave a positive opinion,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

### Article 1

The mandates of Mr Claudiu HERTELIU, Ms Ariane KÖNIG and Ms Biruta SLOKA are renewed for a term of five years, starting on 1 January 2021 and ending on 31 December 2025.

## Article 2

Ms Roxane SILBERMAN is appointed as a member of the European Statistical Advisory Committee for a term of five years, starting on 1 January 2021 and ending on 31 December 2025.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>(1)</sup> OJ L 73, 15.3.2008, p. 13.

<sup>(&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup>) Commission Decision 2016/C12/02 of 14 January 2016 appointing four members of the European Statistical Advisory Committee (OJ C 12, 15.1.2016, p. 2).

<sup>(3)</sup> Commission Decision 2019/C 63/05 of 14 February 2019 appointing eight members of the European Statistical Advisory Committee (OJ C 63, 18.2.2019, p. 4).

EN

# Article 3

Mr Antti RIPATTI is appointed as a member of the European Statistical Advisory Committee for the period starting on 1 January 2021 and ending on 8 May 2024.

Article 4

This Decision shall enter into force on the third day following that of its publication in the Official Journal.

Done at Brussels, 3 May 2021.

For the Commission The President Ursula VON DER LEYEN